As per the latest report from the Ministry of Home Affairs, all existing visas have been suspended till 14th April 2020 owing to the prevention and management of COVID-19. However, this decision excludes visa categories of diplomatic, official, UN/International organization, employment and project visas. The above-said regulation will come into effect from 1200 GMT on 13th March at the port of departure, i.e. from 6.30 am on 13th March 2020.

With 73 number of coronavirus cases in the country, a meeting was held on 11th March in New Delhi to conclude upon a set of measures towards the management of the disease.

Some other important decisions taken in the meeting include suspension of visa-free travel facility to OCI (Overseas Citizen of India) cardholders April 15th 2020. This will come into effect from 1200 GMT on 13th March 2020 at the port of departure.

Besides, decisions were taken that any foreign national intending to travel to India for any obligatory purpose must contact the nearest Indian Mission.

Additionally, every incoming traveller, including Indians arriving from China, Italy, France, Spain, Germany, Republic of Korea and Iran after 15th February 2020 shall be quarantined for a minimum period of 14 days.

The BoI also recommended that inbound travellers, including Indians, are advised not to take any non-mandatory India travel as they may be quarantined for a minimum of 14 days upon the arrival. Indian nationals are also advised not to take any non-mandatory travel abroad. Because on return they may be quarantined for a minimum of 14 days.

Also Read ->  WHO Applauds India’s Effort In Combating Novel Coronavirus

Impositions have been put on land borders as well. International travel through land borders now will be limited only to a few check posts. These designated check posts will have their rigorous screening facilities as well.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *